Participants

Merel Sleddens

My name is Merel Sleddens, 24 years old, and I am from Bladel, the Netherlands. I lived in this small town for 22 years before I moved to Eindhoven. I joined the study tour because I wanted to see more of the world, and this seemed like a great possibility to do so.

My hobbies are cooking, eating, reading, and enjoying a nice glass of wine or beer. I am currently in the Gouden Loper Festival committee, where I will be organizing a craft beer festival together with three other people.

I am really excited to go to Singapore, Japan, and Taiwan with a fun group of fun and make some great memories!

 

Manon Ritten

Hello, my name is Manon and I am currently 23 years old. I am from Kerkrade, Limburg, but I am living in Eindhoven for 3 years now. I am going on the study trip because I am very interested in the Asian culture and I love going on trips with my friends, like my fellow Japie members. Furthermore, I really love swimming and I have competed in the Nationals several times. Besides this I also like to run and do triathlons. Some less sporty things I like to do is to hang out with friends, to go on city trips and of course to get drunk and go to stratum! Lastly, I am really looking forward to the study trip, it will for sure be one of the best experiences of my life

Jochem van Ierssel

Hi travel enthusiast,

My name is Jochem van Ierssel, I am 20 years old and I come from a small town called Meteren. You might know me as the Coordinator of External Affairs of the 66th board of Japie or as the Coordinator of Activities of the VIIth lustrum committee F.O.R.T. ‘Pie Debye’. I currently also live in the best Japie house together with 3 lovely housemates. Besides Japie I like watching a lot of sports, most of all football and cycling. I am a huge PSV fan, so you can also find me in the Philips Stadium on a regular basis. The reason I decided to join the study tour is because I really like to travel and also have not been to Asia before. I am really looking forward to the trip! 

Ulla Praisa

Greetings! I’m Ulla Praisa, a 22-year-old from Riga, Latvia, but my formative years were spent in the beautiful city of Utrecht. My pastimes include playing squash, reading, and juggling numerous extracurricular activities to fill my schedule. Currently, I’m following the chemical process technology master’s track while also engaging in various roles within the university. My eagerness to be part of this study trip stems from a passion for exploration and adventure. From my earliest memories, I’ve always treasured the joys of travel, whether it involved visiting my family in Latvia or spending summers in the diverse landscapes of France, England, or any other European country (with the occasional trip to the Americas). With my past journeys behind me, I’ve always had a curiosity about Asia and its numerous rich cultures. I hope this journey will provide me with new horizons, fresh experiences, and unforgettable memories to cherish for a lifetime.

Niels Beelen

Hello, my name is Niels Beelen.

I am a driven student from a small town in the Netherlands called Ottersum. I found my passion in the field of chemical engineering and to be more specific in the field of chemical process technology. In my free time I like to play all kinds of sports but most often find myself drinking a beer or 2 with fellow students.

When this study tour was announced I immediately said yes due to the unlikelihood of getting such an opportunity again. Having Japan on a bucket list is one thing, but traveling around Asia to 3 such innovative countries is a gift. Besides the innovation, I will be most excited about the food and with it the culture shock. If it’s any like the culture shock I have had in countries/cities like Istanbul, America, or Norway I will be looking my eyes out. 

Roy de Haan

Hello everyone,

My name is Roy de Haan and I am currently a sixth-year student. I originate from the village of Son en Breugel, just north of Eindhoven, which means that I am quite familiar with the city and can be considered a “local”. However, I will definitely not be a local in the places we will travel to during the study tour.

My reason for joining the study tour is to explore job and internship opportunities outside of Europe and see if those are something for me. Additionally, I would like to broaden my cultural horizon by learning more about cultures that are different from my own. This especially includes the local cuisines. One of my hobbies is cooking, and I will therefore spend a significant amount of time discovering all the delicacies that the destination countries have to offer. 

Luc de Clercq

Hey all, I am Luc de Clercq. I originally was born in Mierlo (Netherlands) but lived almost my whole life in Budel. Some of my hobbies are watching motorsports, reading, and sporting. Especially, Ice-skating, cycling, and running are sports I like a lot. Nowadays I have my own room in Eindhoven. This study trip is for me a unique opportunity to explore other countries outside of Europe as I have not done such a thing. Besides that, it is also interesting how other universities and companies outside of the Netherlands function. As such, I am looking forward to this trip with some other amazing fellow students.

Maurik Engelbert van Bevervoorde

I’m Maurik, fifth year student and currently doing the CPT master combined with the mastaer in applied math. I’m originally from the beautiful town in Limburg called Sint Joost, which has a forest at walking distance, where I love to go mountain biking with my father and little brother at times during the weekend. Some other hobbies of mine include reading, joining group lessons at the SSC and playing board games with friends.

As I love cooking, I joined the ChefCie during my first year as a student, and still am a proud member. The Asian cuisine is one of my favourites, so I look forward to experiencing it first-hand during the study tour. I’m also very much looking forward to the culture shock of diving into Asian culture for a couple of weeks, as I haven’t been to that part of the world yet.

Sander van den Brink

Hey everybody,

I am Sander van den Brink and I was born in a small village in North-Holland called Dirkshorn. After having lived here for 18 years I moved to Eindhoven 2 years ago to study Chemical Engineering. Next year I will be the Treasurer of the F.O.R.T. committee so that is where I spent most of my spare time on. Besides the F.O.R.T. I also enjoy watching motorsports like Formula 1 and MotoGP, of course preferably in nice company. Moreover I also like to spend my free time going out or playing some games with my friends. Lastly I am really excited to go on the trip with all of you because who doesn’t love to go on a vacation with such amazing people.

Henry Kwan

Oh, I still cannot believe going to Singapore, Taiwan and Japan with you. It will be so kawaii desu ;). Let me introduce myself: I’m Henry Kwan, currently living in the small picturesque village of Bladel (Noord-Brabant), and I will hopefully soon end my masters in MSMC. You may have seen me being active for the student team SensUs Organization. Or maybe you have read some of my articles in the T-Licht (and my DDR game easter egg…). 

 

Singapore was on my bucket list for a long long time. My main reason… Yes, it is because of their FOOD !!! It is also one of my favourite conversational topics. I like to compare myself talking about exquisite food to the Dutch people talking about the weather. 

 

All in all, I am looking forward to meeting you all. Let’s make this trip an unforgettable moment of our lives!

 

Pascal van Wijk

Hi, my name is (what?)

My name is (who?)

My name is (chka-chka, Pascal)

Originating from the beautiful city of IJsselstein, Utrecht this man has traveled all over the world. Not only he does this on a (partially) crappy old racing bike, but also with his fellow band members, as the proud drummer that he is. Making music is one of the most fun things to do, in the 22-year old’s opinion. Equally fun nowadays is swimming, playing squash or table tennis. Semi-fun is the MSMC Master’s track that he is trying to tackle nowadays. The sky is the limit, therefore he worked at the supermarket for plenty of years. Loyalty is something he values very much, as is making plenty of jokes verbally, and on paper. He thinks the world can loosen up a bit at times.

Luke de Jong

Hi I’m Luke,

 

I’m 24 years old and originally from a small village near Leiden called Hazerswoude-dorp. But I’ve lived in Eindhoven for the last 5 years. This year, I started with my master in process technology. In my spare time I like to go to the gym or occasionally go for a run (mainly when the Batavieren race is nearing) or having a beer with friends.

 

After a not so successful trip to Singapore a little over a year ago (eventhough Iceland was beautiful), I could not let the oppertunity pass to still visit this country. Especially while also being able to combine it with a visit to Japan and Taiwan. I’m really looking forward to exploring this side of the world with a group of Japies

Timon Roose

Hi there! My name is Timon Roose and I’m from the best city in Brabant: Tilburg! Since I only dared to move about 30 kilometres when choosing a university, I thought traveling to the other side of the world would be a nice change of pace. You might already know me as the chairman of the 66th board of T.S.V.  ‘Jan Pieter Minckelers’, which takes up most of my time nowadays. If I ever get some spare time, I like to play guitar, read books or go for a run. I hope I will be able to keep up my running habit while on the STC, but I am not too optimistic about that 🙂 I am already looking forward to the tour, which will be the best way to finish my board year!

Sven Nash

Hi! My name is Sven and I am very excited to go on the study tour of (South) Eastern Asia this upcoming summer. Although I may not always sound like it, I was born in Breda, on the other side of North Brabant from Eindhoven, to an already quite geographically spread family. My passport is Dutch, but I spent over 10 years living in Asia, on the tropical island of Borneo, Malaysia and in the desert that is Qatar. Traveling long hours and adapting to different cultures is how I was raised. I look forward to the STC, primarily to delve into the renowned gastronomy of the Isles that we’ll visit. But certainly also to experience the cultural and ecological diversity this tour will expose us to. I am enjoying all of the pre-tour activities so far, and I am excited for all that the committee still has in store.